© Antoine Mercusot

ROYAN CONGRESS CENTER

RESTORATION AND MODERNISATION OF A TESTIMONY TO THE ARCHITECTURAL RENEWAL OF THE 1950s

A well-known seaside resort, the town of Royan experienced tremendous growth under the Second Empire. Destroyed by bombs during the Second World War, traces of the pre-war city remained scarce. In 1949, the government of the time designated the town as a priority for reconstruction, thus prompting its redesign. The project was entrusted to the Bordeaux architect Claude Ferret, who would turn the town into an example of the architectural and urban culture of the 1950s.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

The first Congress Center in France recovers its programmatic and technical innovation of the 1950s.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

The new town was built according to the principles of the Modern Movement, which promoted aesthetics based on functionalism and rationalism, with an innovative approach according to which the form of buildings should derive exclusively from their purpose. The program included the creation of the first congress center in France. After four years of construction work, the building was inaugurated in 1957, with a façade made out of Jean Prouvé’s porthole panels. In 2004, the congress center was awarded the “Heritage 20th century” label and was listed as a historical monument in 2011.

© Antoine Mercusot

In 2007, the town of Royan decided to rehabilitate the congress center, which had undergone too many alterations since it was built, in particular due to refurbishments in the 1970s. As part of an overall approach to restoring the city of Royan’s heritage, the aim is to recover the congress center’s programmatic focus and original architectural complexity, while enhancing its comfort and ensuring that it meets today’s standards. An Interpretation Center for Architecture and Heritage (CIAP) will also be opened to inform and raise awareness among the general public about the area’s architecture and heritage.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

The restoration and modernisation project we are carrying out alongside Pierre Ferret, son of Claude Ferret, will result in the revival of the architectural structure of the 1950s. The congress center will be redesigned to recover its initial layout, and will include a theater and conference hall, a bar, a restaurant, and exhibition spaces. The complete renovation of the Saintonge Hall aims to restore its original elliptical shape and to improve its comfort and security standards. To this end, several structures have been destroyed, such as mezzanines, interpreter booths and some later partitions. On the exterior, the glass façade dating back to 1987 has been removed to restore the “curtain wall” made out of Jean Prouvé panels with Vermeer gray and yellow.

Location
Royan
Project type
Renovation
and modernisation
Program
Spectacle et Congrès
Project owner
City of Royan
Team
Chatillon Architects (associate architect),
Atelier Ferret (lead architect)
Budget
6.5 M€ HT
Timeline
2017-2022

© Antoine Mercusot

PALAIS DES CONGRES DE ROYAN

RESTITUTION ET MODERNISATION D’UN TÉMOIGNAGE DU RENOUVEAU ARCHITECTURAL DES ANNÉES 1950

Station balnéaire réputée, la ville de Royan connaît un formidable essor sous le Second Empire. Anéantie sous les bombes au cours de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, les traces de la période de l’avant-guerre restent rares. Dès 1949, le gouvernement de l’époque la désigne pour faire l’objet d’une reconstruction prioritaire, il s’agit alors de repenser la ville. Le projet est confié à l’architecte bordelais Claude Ferret qui va faire de la ville de Royan un exemple de la culture architecturale et urbanistique des années 1950.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Le premier Palais des Congrès de France retrouve son innovation programmatique et technique des années 1950.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Cette ville nouvelle est bâtie selon les principes du Mouvement moderne, qui prône une esthétique basée sur le fonctionnalisme et le rationalisme avec un rapport inédit selon lequel la forme des bâtiments doit être exclusivement l’expression de leur usage. Le programme contient notamment la création du premier palais des congrès de France. Après quatre années de construction, celui-ci sera inauguré en 1957, avec comme façade des panneaux hublots de Jean Prouvé. En 2004, le palais des congrès obtient le label Patrimoine du XXe siècle puis il est inscrit au titre des monuments historiques en 2011.

© Antoine Mercusot

En 2007, la ville de Royan a souhaité réhabiliter le palais des congrès, altéré par de trop nombreuses interventions depuis sa construction, notamment par des aménagements des années 1970. Dans une démarche globale de restitution du patrimoine de la ville de Royan, le palais des congrès doit retrouver sa vocation programmatique, sa richesse architecturale d’origine, tout en améliorant son confort et en s’assurant du respect des normes d’aujourd’hui. Un Centre d’interprétation de l’architecture et du patrimoine (CIAP) sera aussi développé pour informer et sensibiliser tous les publics à l’architecture et au patrimoine du territoire.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Le projet de restitution et de modernisation que nous menons aux côtés de Pierre Ferret, fils de Claude Ferret, va permettre une renaissance du volume architectural des années 1950. Le palais des congrès va être requalifié afin de retrouver sa configuration initiale avec une salle de spectacles et de conférence, un bar, un restaurant et des espaces d’exposition. La rénovation complète de la salle Saintonge a pour objectif de remettre en valeur sa forme d’ellipse d’origine, d’améliorer son confort et ses normes de sécurité. Pour ce faire, plusieurs volumes ont été détruits comme des mezzanines, des cabines de traduction et certains cloisonnements tardifs. À l’extérieur, la façade de verre datant de 1987 est supprimée pour remettre à jour le « mur-rideau » formé de panneaux Prouvé à hublots verts et jaunes.

Lieu
Royan
Type d’opération
Réhabilitation
et modernisation
Programme
Spectacle et Congrès
Maître d’ouvrage
Ville de Royan
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes (architecte associé),
Atelier Ferret (architecte mandataire)
Budget
6.5 M€ HT
Calendrier
2017-2022