© Cyrille Weiner

ROYAUMONT ABBEY

RESTORATION OF THE ABBEY
AND DEVELOPMENT
OF A CULTURAL MEETING CENTRE

Royaumont Abbey is an ancient Cistercian monastery built 800 years ago at the instigation of Louis IX. It was bought by Jules Gouin at the end of the 19th century, then relinquished by his businessman and music-loving grandson Henry to the Royaumont Foundation that he created in 1964, and which still manages the property today. The Royaumont was the first private cultural foundation to be created.

In keeping with the remarkable restoration work carried out by Pierre-André Lablaude, one of the chief architects of France’s historic monuments, we were asked to draw up a project for the restoration of the facades, buttresses, roof structure, and roofing of the “Monks’ Wing”. The programme was completed in 2017.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Once devoted to prayer, now to study and music, Royaumont Abbey is a place where spirituality is timeless.

We also carried out interior refurbishment with the creation of a large, professional kitchen visible to the residents and guests, a lift designed as a sculpture in the newel of a wooden Neo-Gothic staircase, guest rooms, and contemporary furniture.

The use of burnished brass as a reference material is an indicator of contemporary operations that nonetheless appear to have always been there.

Work on the roof and façade of the refectory and calefactory are currently in progress and are set for completion in 2020.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Cyrille Weiner
© Antoine Mercusot
Location
Asnières-sur-Oise
Mission
Restoration and
contemporary refurbishment
Programme
Culture / Hospitality
Contractor
Royaumont Foundation
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
€ 6m excl. VAT
Timetable
2014 – 2020
Awards
Trophées de l’ascenseur
2016, Jury Prize

© Cyrille Weiner

ABBAYE DE ROYAUMONT

RESTAURATION DE L’ABBAYE ET
AMÉNAGEMENT D’UN CENTRE
CULTUREL DE RENCONTRES

L’abbaye de Royaumont est un ancien monastère cistercien édifié il y a 800 ans par la volonté de saint Louis. Il est acheté par Jules Gouin à la fin du XIXe siècle, puis cédé par son petit-fils Henry, industriel et mélomane, à la Fondation Royaumont qu’il a créée en 1964 et qui en assure encore aujourd’hui la gestion. C’est la première fondation privée à vocation culturelle.

Dans la continuité des remarquables restaurations réalisées par l’architecte en chef des monuments historiques Pierre-André Lablaude, nous avons été chargés par la Fondation Royaumont d’imaginer un projet de restauration des façades, des contreforts, des charpentes et des couvertures de l’aile dite « des moines », que nous avons achevé en 2017.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Hier consacrée à la prière, aujourd’hui à la musique et à la danse, l’abbaye de Royaumont est un lieu dont la spiritualité échappe au temps.

Nous avons également réalisé des aménagements intérieurs contemporains avec la création d’une grande cuisine gastronomique visible par les convives et les résidents, d’un ascenseur élaboré comme une sculpture dans le noyau d’un escalier néo-gothique en bois, de chambres d’hôtes et de meubles contemporains.

La mise en œuvre du laiton bruni comme matériau de référence marque des interventions contemporaines qui semblent pourtant avoir toujours été là.

Les travaux de couverture et de façade du réfectoire et du chauffoir sont en cours pour une livraison en 2020.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Cyrille Weiner
© Antoine Mercusot
Lieu
Asnières-sur-Oise
Type d’opération
Restauration et
aménagement contemporain
Programme
Culture / Hôtellerie
Maître d’ouvrage
Fondation Royaumont
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
6 M€ HT
Calendrier
2014 – 2020
Prix
Trophées de l’ascenseur
2016, Prix du jury