© Cyrille Weiner

HÔTEL ROYAL IN ÉVIAN

REDEVELOPMENT OF A RESORT HOTEL INTO A 5-STAR PALACE

Inspired by Art Nouveau and the regionalist movement, the Hôtel Royal in Évian-les-Bains was designed by architect Jean-Albert Hébrard. Intended for a well-to-do clientele, it was built to be a haven of peace in close proximity with nature. The interior decoration had been entrusted to Gustave-Louis Jaulmes and Adrien Karbowsky.

Modified on its upper floors in 1958 following a fire, the hotel required a complete overhaul of its 150 bedrooms, reception spaces, and technical areas, as well as its attic and roofing, in an architectural style compatible with the original work.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

It was necessary to reconnect with the spirit of the place, and to form a continuity with its history in order to exalt its potential and perpetuate its appeal. Once its redevelopment was completed, in 2016 the Hôtel Royal became one of the rare establishments in France to be awarded the status of “Palace”.

This was a project of extreme complexity given the deadlines and the imperative of reopening while the works were ongoing to accommodate the Masters golf championship. It was thus divided into three functional phases.

In addition to the restoration of the hotel, the project included the creation of a set of conference rooms on the hillside beneath the terrace, as well as a new technical building beneath the carpark.

chatillon -royal hotel Evian
©Rémy Duril
Location
Évian-les-Bains
Mission
Total renovation
Programme
Hospitality
Contractor
Évian Resort (Groupe Danone)
Team
Chatillon Architectes
(lead architect), François
Champsaur (decorator)
Budget
€ 64m excl. VAT
Timetable
2010 – 2015

© Cyrille Weiner

HÔTEL ROYAL D’ÉVIAN

RESTRUCTURATION D’UN HÔTEL DE VILLÉGIATURE EN PALACE 5 ÉTOILES

L’Hôtel Royal d’Évian-les-Bains est une oeuvre de l’architecte Jean-Albert Hébrard, inspirée de l’Art Nouveau et du mouvement régionaliste. Il a été conçu comme un havre de paix en lien avec la nature, à destination d’une clientèle bourgeoise. La décoration intérieure avait été confiée à Gustave-Louis Jaulmes et Adrien Karbowsky.

Modifié dans ses parties hautes en 1958, à la suite d’un incendie, l’hôtel nécessitait une remise à niveau complète des 150 chambres, des espaces de réception et de tous les espaces techniques ainsi que la reprise de l’attique et des toitures dans un langage architectural compatible avec l’oeuvre initiale.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Il fallait ici renouer avec l’esprit du lieu, s’inscrire dans la continuité de son histoire pour en sublimer le potentiel et en perpétuer l’attrait. À la suite de sa rénovation, l’Hôtel Royal est devenu en 2016 l’un des rares établissements français à recevoir la distinction de Palace.

Opération d’une extrême complexité compte tenu des délais et des impératifs de réouverture en cours de travaux pour accueillir les Masters de golf, elle a été découpée en trois phases fonctionnelles.

Outre la restauration de l’hôtel, le projet comprend la création d’un ensemble de salles de séminaires et d’un bâtiment technique neuf à flanc de coteau.

chatillon -royal hotel Evian
©Rémy Duril
Lieu
Évian-les-Bains
Type d’opération
Rénovation complète
Programme
Hôtellerie
Maître d’ouvrage
Évian Resort (Groupe Danone)
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
(mandataire), François
Champsaur (décorateur)
Budget
64 M€ HT
Calendrier
2010 – 2015