© Antoine Mercusot

OBÉLISQUE DE LOUXOR

RESTORATION OF THE OLDEST MONUMENT IN PARIS

The obelisk was given to France by the Viceroy of Egypt, Mehemet Ali, in 1829 in recognition of the work of Jean-François Champolion for the deciphering of hieroglyphics. It was one of a pair of obelisks that were positioned at the entrance of the Temple of Amun in Luxor, but of which only the one currently in Place de la Concorde was transported to Paris, representing a substantial technical achievement. Erected in 1836 in a particularly emblematic location of the capital, at the initiative of Louis Philippe, the Luxor Obelisk is a symbol of the strong ties between Egypt and France. Carved in the 13th century before our era, the monolith is 23 metres high and weighs 222 tons, to which must be added the 240 tons of the pedestal. It is made of Aswan pink granite very low in quartz.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

The restoration of the Luxor Obelisk marks the beginning of the bicentenary commemorations to celebrate the deciphering of hieroglyphics by Jean-François Champollion.

The State’s scientific and technical control performed on the Luxor Obelisk by the Historical Monuments Research Laboratory (LRMH) aimed at validating restoration protocols, especially with regard to cleaning. Previous inspections had shown that restoring the monument involved more than just cleaning and required further procedures to ensure the strict preservation of the damaged and flaking outer surfaces. The Kärcher company, a long-standing sponsor with significant expertise in the restoration of historical monuments, offered to provide a skills-based sponsorship for the restoration of the Luxor Obelisk.

In 2021, we were commissioned to restore the monolith, its pedestal, its podium and the enclosing fence. The intervention comprised a phase to consolidate the monolith's flaking surfaces and a cleaning process adapted to the different materials that make up the monument. To restore the flaking surfaces of the monolith, altered by the harsh environment of Paris, a "surgical" operation was also required to consolidate the surface using silicate products designed to bring back the natural matrix cohesion of the Aswan granite. In addition, the cracks and large original fracture found on the monolith were treated with syringe-injected grout and micromortars, also of silicate origin, to ensure that the products were chemically compatible with the granite.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

The podium, made of granite from Brittany, was steam cleaned and sand-blasted, using very fine sand under high pressure to remove the ingrained dirt. The Brittany granite pedestal was only steam cleaned to remove micro-organisms. The 32-carat gold pyramidion was cleaned and entirely re-gilded with gold leaf. The spikes and locking system of the enclosing fence were refurbished. The paved floors were repointed. Thanks to the restoration, both Parisians and tourists are now able to rediscover one of the most important monuments in the history of Paris in its best light.

Location
Paris, 8th arrondissement
Project type
Restoration
Program
Culture
Project owner
DRAC Ile de France
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
1 M€ HT
Timeline
2021-2022

© Antoine Mercusot

OBÉLISQUE DE LOUXOR

RESTAURATION DU PLUS ANCIEN MONUMENT DE PARIS

L’obélisque a été donné à la France en 1829 par le vice-roi d’Égypte Méhémet-Ali, en reconnaissance du travail de Jean-François Champollion sur le déchiffrement des hiéroglyphes. Il faisait partie d’une paire d’obélisques située devant le temple d’Amon de Louxor, mais dont seul celui qui orne aujourd’hui la place de la Concorde a été déplacé jusqu’à Paris, au prix d’une prouesse technique considérable. Installé en 1836, à l’initiative de Louis-Philippe, dans un lieu particulièrement emblématique de la capitale, l’obélisque de Louxor constitue un symbole des liens forts qui unissent l’Égypte et la France. Le monolithe, sculpté au XIIIème siècle avant notre ère, mesure 23 mètres de hauteur et pèse 222 tonnes auxquelles il faut ajouter les 240 tonnes du piédestal. Il est constitué d’un granit rose très pauvre en quartz provenant d’Assouan.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

La restauration de l’obélisque de Louxor marque le début des commémorations du bicentenaire du déchiffrement des hiéroglyphes par Jean-François Champollion.

Le conseil scientifique et technique de l’État exercé sur l’Obélisque de Louxor par le Laboratoire de Recherche des Monuments Historiques (LRMH) s’est focalisé sur la validation des protocoles de restauration, en particulier le nettoyage. Les inspections préalables ont montré que la restauration de l’édifice dépassait le simple cadre du nettoyage et nécessitait d’autres interventions de stricte conservation des épidermes altérés et desquamés. La société Kärcher, mécène de longue date ayant une expertise notable dans la restauration de monuments historiques, a proposé de réaliser un mécénat de compétences pour la restauration de l’obélisque de Louxor.

Nous avons été missionnés en 2021 pour l’opération comprenant la restauration du monolithe, de son piédestal, de son podium et de la grille de clôture. Celle-ci intégrait une phase de consolidation des zones desquamées du monolithe et un nettoyage adapté aux différents matériaux composant le monument. La restauration des surfaces desquamées du monolithe, fragilisées dans l’environnement agressif de Paris, nécessitait en outre une opération « chirurgicale » de consolidation superficielle à l’aide de produits silicatés destinés à restituer la cohésion matricielle originelle du granite d’Assouan. En complément, les fissures et la grande fracture d’origine qui affecte le monolithe, ont été traitées à l’aide de coulis injectés à la seringue et de micromortiers également d’origine silicatée afin d’assurer une compatibilité chimique des produits avec le granite.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Le socle en granite breton a été nettoyé à la vapeur d’eau et à l’hydrosablage, du sable très fin envoyé à haute pression pour désincruster la saleté. Le piédestal en granite breton a bénéficié d’un nettoyage à la vapeur d’eau uniquement afin de retirer les micro-organismes. Le pyramidion recouvert d’or 32 carats a quant à lui été nettoyé et redoré totalement à la faille d’or. Les grilles de clôtures ont fait l’objet d’une révision des pointes et du système de fermeture. Les sols dallés ont été rejointés. Cette restauration permet désormais aux Parisiens et aux touristes de redécouvrir ce monument emblématique de l’histoire de Paris sous son meilleur jour.

Lieu
Paris 8e
Type d’opération
Restauration
Programme
Culture
Maître d’ouvrage
DRAC Ile de France
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
1 M€ HT
Calendrier
2021-2022