© Cyrille Weiner

HÔTEL DE VILLE DE CHÂLONS-EN-CHAMPAGNE

CREATION OF A VERTICAL CIRCULATION CORE

The City Hall building was constructed between 1772 and 1776 on the site of a former 16th-century hospital, as part of the Champagne-city's beautification project at the time to create a genuine provincial capital. The king took on the construction, and the city provided the materials.

Designed by architect Jean-Nicolas Louis Durand, the building's facade is divided into three sections: a front section with six Ionic columns, a pediment, and two wings – all in the classical French style. The pediment is decorated with an allegory of the city. A woman adorned with a crown of turrets is surrounded by putti, which symbolize the treasures of the region: the grapes for the vineyards, and the wheat for agriculture. On the steps, Antoine Lépine sculpted four lions in 1778.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Non-compliance with current safety and equal-access regulations did not allow for collective and indiscriminate use of the building. In 2009, the city of Châlons-en-Champagne decided to bring its City Hall up to standard so as to optimally accommodate all audiences.

We chose to create a new circulation core in the courtyard of the building. This contemporary extension takes the form of a glass monolith, the transparency of which allows for a view of the new staircase, which winds around a second structural volume clad in brass, itself enclosing the elevator.

Extensions and restorations make it possible to enhance old buildings by offering them the means to accommodate all audiences.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

This proposal made it possible to resolve a large part of the accessibility and safety issues without having to carry out a major interior restructuring, which would have resulted in demolitions damages to the building.

The stone plinth, the glass facades reflecting those of the building, and the cladding of the structural brass core provide a subtle contemporary touch that, through its materials and colors, blends into its host site. This has inscribed the building into its current time period.

Location
Châlons-en-Champagne
Project type
Extension and Restoration
Program
Administration
Project owner
City of Châlons-en-Champagne
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
2 M€ HT
Timeline
2009-2014

© Cyrille Weiner

HÔTEL DE VILLE DE CHÂLONS-EN-CHAMPAGNE

CRÉATION D’UN NOYAU DE CIRCULATION VERTICALE

L’Hôtel de Ville a été construit entre 1772 et 1776 à l’emplacement d’un ancien hôpital du XVIe siècle, s’intégrant à la politique d’embellissement de la cité champenoise de l’époque pour créer une véritable capitale provinciale. Le Roi avait pris à sa charge la réalisation et la Ville avait fourni les matériaux.

Pensée par l’architecte Jean-Nicolas Louis Durand, la façade de l’édifice se divise en trois parties : un avant-corps avec six colonnes ioniques, un fronton et deux ailes, le tout dans le style classique français. Le fronton est décoré d’une allégorie de la Ville, une femme coiffée d’une couronne de tourelles est entourée de putti symbolisant les richesses de la région : les raisins pour la vigne et les épis de blés pour l’agriculture. Sur le perron, Antoine Lépine a sculpté quatre lions en 1778.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Les manquements aux réglementations en vigueur en matière de sécurité, d’accessibilité et d’accueil de tous les publics ne permettaient pas un usage collectif et indifférencié du bâtiment. En 2009, la Ville de Châlons-en-Champagne a décidé de remettre l’Hôtel de Ville en conformité afin de pouvoir accueillir de façon optimale tous les publics.

Nous avons fait le choix de créer un nouveau noyau de circulation dans la cour du bâtiment. Cette extension contemporaine prend la forme d’un monolithe de verre dont la transparence dévoile son contenu : un nouvel escalier s’enroulant autour d’un second volume structurel habillé de laiton, contenant, lui, l’ascenseur.

L’extension et la réhabilitation permettent de valoriser les bâtiments anciens en leur offrant les capacités d’accueillir tous les publics.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Cette proposition permettait de résoudre une grande partie des problématiques d’accessibilité et de sécurité sans avoir à mener une importante restructuration intérieure qui aurait engendré des démolitions dommageables pour l’édifice.

Le socle de pierres, les façades en verre reflétant celles du bâtiment et l’habillage du noyau structurel en laiton marquent une intervention contemporaine s’accordant subtilement, par ses matériaux et ses couleurs, au lieu qui l’accueille. Elle inscrit le bâtiment dans son temps.

Lieu
Châlons-en-Champagne
Type d’opération
Extension et mise aux normes
Programme
Administration
Maître d’ouvrage
Ville de Châlons-en-Champagne
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
2 M€ HT
Calendrier
2009-2014