©Véronique-Nosbaum

LIME KILN

CREATION OF A PANORAMIC TERRACE AND MUSEUM IN THE HEART OF THE ALPS

This small project on the outskirts of the village of Cons-Sainte-Colombe perfectly illustrates our philosophy. We were asked to refurbish the ruins of ancient kilns used for the artisanal production of lime until the start of the 20th century.

In response to the request of the departmental archaeologist to turn the site into a small eco-museum, we proposed a contemporary plan that was representative of our approach while also delicately integrating the ruin. It recounts the history of the place while exploiting the outstanding qualities of the site to provide a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains.

® Francçois Chatillon Architecte
© Véronique Nosbaum

There is no boundary between creation and the restoration of ancient constructions, between heritage and its contemporary projection.

© Véronique Nosbaum
© Véronique Nosbaum

The materials used come directly from the surrounding area. They are principally the crushed stone from the nearby quarry that was used to feed the kilns, and fir wood from the encircling forests.

Inside, a conical parapet evokes the brick lining in the combustion chambers, while a glass floor allows visitors to see the residue left by the last batch fired before the kilns ceased operation. At the base of the mouth of each of the two kilns, circular glass panels inserted in the covering indicate the natural pathway of the smoke and combustion gases.

The project won the Rhone-Alpes heritage prize in 2006.

Location
Cons-Sainte-Colombe
Mission
Contemporary extension
Programme
Culture
Contractor
Municipality of
Cons-Sainte-Colombe
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
€ 120,000 excl. VAT
Timetable
2004-2006
Awards
Rhone-Alpes
heritage prize, 2006
© Véronique Nosbaum

©Véronique-Nosbaum

FOUR À CHAUX

CRÉATION D’UN BELVÉDÈRE-MUSÉE AU COEUR DES ALPES

Cette petite opération située aux abords du village de Cons-Sainte- Colombe illustre bien notre philosophie. Il s’agissait d’intervenir sur la ruine d’anciens fours pour témoigner de l’activité de la fabrication artisanale de la chaux qui perdura jusqu’au début du XXe siècle.

Pour répondre à la volonté de l’archéologue départemental d’en faire un petit éco-musée, nous avons proposé un projet contemporain qui marque à la fois notre intervention et s’intègre délicatement sur la ruine. Il raconte l’histoire du lieu tout en profitant des qualités exceptionnelles du site pour offrir une vue panoramique sur les montagnes.

© Véronique Nosbaum

Il n’y a pas de rupture théorique entre la restauration du bâti ancien et la création, entre le patrimoine et sa projection contemporaine.

© Véronique Nosbaum
© Véronique Nosbaum

Les matériaux du projet proviennent directement des abords du site. Il s’agit principalement de pierres concassées de la carrière voisine qui alimentait le four et de bois de sapin des forêts des alentours.

À l’intérieur, un garde-corps conique évoque le chemisage de briques de la chambre de combustion alors qu’un plancher de verre permet de voir les résidus de la dernière fournée avant l’arrêt de l’exploitation. À l’aplomb de chacune des gueules des deux fours, des verrières circulaires percées dans la couverture rappellent le cheminement naturel des fumées et des gaz de combustion.

Ce projet a été récompensé par le prix du patrimoine rhônalpin en 2006.

Lieu
Cons-Sainte-Colombe
Type d’opération
Extension contemporaine
Programme
Culture
Maître d’ouvrage
Commune de
Cons-Sainte-Colombe
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
120 000 € HT
Calendrier
2004-2006
Prix
Prix du patrimoine
rhônalpin 2006
© Véronique Nosbaum