© Alain Hatat

WALCOURT CHAPEL

RESTORATION AND REINTERPRETATION OF A PLACE OF SILENCE

© Alain Hatat

The chapel was built in 1782 on the site of an initial structure dating from the 16th century, of which no trace remains. Although the name of the architect is unknown, the Walcourt Chapel is part of the quest for character and the sublime which characterises the architecture of the end of the Enlightenment.

The apparent simplicity of its centered layout inscribed in a square is reinforced by the rigorous composition of its facades. The austere beauty of the Givet-stone cladding is highlighted by a massive entablature. The protruding door frames (en saillie) on the cladding are alone in providing a subtle interplay of shadows. Within, a brick cladding forms a second layer.

© Alain Hatat

The Walcourt Chapel was abandoned, in ruin. We were thus able to create a space whose primary utility was to be "useless", a place of silence and light.

© Alain Hatat
© Alain Hatat

After an initial analysis phase based on relatively few elements likely to assist in the restoration project, we chose to restore the volume and interior space without masking the reality of a contemporary intervention.

The choice of a composite frame "à la Philibert Delorme", treated with modern materials (veener and stainless-steel keys) is driven by the survey carried out at the beginning of the 20th century by Henri Deneux on a similar structure – contemporary with the Walcourt Chapel – located in the northern cemetery of Reims.

Within, the bareness of the brick walls recalls its status as a ruin and confers to the space an "ancient" aesthetic. The contemporary stained-glass windows were imagined as DNA markers meant to evoke the parallel between genetic transmission and that of built heritage.

© Alain Hatat
Location
Givet
Project type
Restoration
Program
Worship
Project owner
DRAC Champagne-
Ardenne/City of Givet
Team
Chatillon Architects
Budget
€ 850,000 excl. VAT
Timeline
2006 – 2007

©Alain Hatat

CHAPELLE DE WALCOURT

RESTAURATION ET RÉINTERPRÉTATION D’UN LIEU DE SILENCE

©Alain Hatat

La chapelle a été construite en 1782 à l’emplacement d’un premier édifice daté du XVIe siècle dont il ne reste aucune trace. Bien que le nom de l’architecte ne soit pas connu, la chapelle de Walcourt s’inscrit dans cette recherche du caractère et du sublime qui caractérise l’architecture de la fin du siècle des Lumières.

L’apparente simplicité de son plan centré inscrit dans un carré est renforcée par la rigueur de composition des façades. La beauté austère du parement en pierre de Givet est surlignée par un entablement massif. Seuls les encadrements des portes en saillie sur le parement amènent un subtil jeu d’ombre. A l’intérieur, un parement de brique forme une seconde peau.

©Alain Hatat

La chapelle Walcourt était une ruine abandonnée, perdue. On pouvait légitimement y créer un lieu dont l’utilité première était d’être « inutile », un lieu de silence et de lumière.

© Alain Hatat
©Alain Hatat

Après une première phase d’analyse reposant sur assez peu d’éléments susceptibles d’étayer un parti de restauration, nous avons choisi de restituer la volumétrie et l’espace intérieur, sans masquer la réalité d’une intervention contemporaine.

Le choix d’une charpente d’assemblage « à  la Philibert Delorme » traitée avec des matériaux modernes (contreplaqués et clavettes inox) est guidé par le relevé réalisé au début du XXe siècle par Henri Deneux sur un ouvrage similaire, contemporain de la chapelle de Walcourt, situé au cimetière nord de Reims.

A l’intérieur, la nudité des murs de briques rappelle son statut de ruine et confère à l’espace une poésie « antique ». Les vitraux contemporains ont été imaginés comme des marqueurs ADN afin d’évoquer le parallèle entre la transmission génétique et celle du patrimoine bâti.

©Alain Hatat
Lieu
Givet
Type d’opération
Restauration
Programme
Culte
Maître d’ouvrage
DRAC Champagne-
Ardenne/Ville de Givet
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
850 000€ HT
Calendrier
2006 – 2007
©Alain Hatat