© Antoine Mercusot

LE CORBUSIER APARTMENT-WORKSHOP

RESTORATION OF AN ARCHITECTURAL VANGUARD FROM THE 30s

The Molitor building on Rue Nungesser-et-Coli, in which Le Corbusier resided perched on the top floor, was built by him for the developers from the Paris ‘Parc des Princes’ Real Estate Company in the 1930s.

In this architecturally avant-garde district, Le Corbusier dreamt of building large villa-buildings in line with his "radiant city" concept developed in 1931, focusing on light and space.

© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier

Upon his death in 1965, and after 30 years of living there, the apartment was entrusted to his former workshop foreman, who has then occupied the premises with his team for nearly 20 years. Although it has regularly been the subject of repairs and maintenance work, defective sealing from the origins along with the simple fact of remaining unoccupied for such a long period, led to problems with the apartment.

In 2014, the Le Corbusier Foundation set up a multidisciplinary team that worked collaboratively to provide simple answers to some complex questions. The ambitious restoration program allowed us to deepen our knowledge of the site and to recover the former state of the apartment-workshop from 1965.

Restoring the apartment designed by Le Corbusier, inhabited by his wife and himself until his death in 1965, is a textbook case. Modesty and restraint with regards to the artist and his work were our guiding principles.

© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier

An initial phase of works concerning the walls and roof allowed us to solve the sealing issues and to recover the original aesthetics of the glass bricks, which had been replaced. The second phase – focusing on the interiors – resulted in the restoration of the floors, the interior woodwork, the meticulous replacement of degraded materials, and the rediscovery of the site's polychromy.

© Antoine Mercusot
Location
Paris, 16th district
Project type
Restoration
Program
Culture
Musée
Project owner
Le Corbusier Foundation
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
1 M€ HT
Timeline
2015-2018

© Antoine Mercusot

APPARTEMENT-ATELIER DE LE CORBUSIER

RESTAURATION D’UNE AVANT-GARDE ARCHITECTURALE DES ANNÉES 30

L’immeuble Molitor de la rue Nungesser-et-Coli, dans lequel le Corbusier s’était installé au dernier étage, a été construit par lui, pour les promoteurs de la Société Immobilière de Paris Parc des Princes dans les années 30.

Dans ce quartier d’avant-garde architecturale, Le Corbusier rêvait d’édifier de grands immeubles villas selon son concept de « ville radieuse » élaboré en 1931, faisant la part belle à la lumière et à l’espace.

© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier

A son décès en 1965 et après 30 années de vie sur place, l’appartement avait été ensuite confié à son ancien chef d’atelier, ayant lui aussi occupé les lieux avec son équipe durant près de 20 ans. Bien qu’ayant régulièrement fait l’objet de travaux de réparation et d’entretien, une étanchéité défectueuse dès l’origine et le fait de ne pas avoir été habité durant longtemps ont causé des désordres à l’appartement.

En 2014, la Fondation Le Corbusier a mis en place une équipe pluridisciplinaire qui a travaillé de façon collaborative pour apporter des réponses simples à des questions complexes. L’ambitieux programme de restauration a permis d’approfondir la connaissance du lieu et de retrouver le dernier état de l’appartement-atelier en 1965.

Restaurer l’appartement conçu par Le Corbusier, habité par son épouse et lui-même jusqu’à sa mort en 1965, est un cas d’école. La modestie et le retrait devant l’artiste et son œuvre en ont été le programme.

© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier
© gdelaubier

Une première phase de travaux concernant le clos et le couvert a permis de résoudre les problèmes d’étanchéité et de retrouver l’esthétique originelle des briques de verres qui avaient été remplacées. La seconde phase portant sur les intérieurs s’est traduite par la restauration des sols, des éléments de menuiserie en bois, le remplacement méticuleux des matériaux dégradés et la redécouverte de la polychromie des lieux.

© Antoine Mercusot
Lieu
Paris 16e
Type d’opération
Restauration
Programme
Culture
Musée
Maître d’ouvrage
Fondation Le Corbusier
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
1 M€ HT
Calendrier
2015-2018