© Antoine Mercusot

EISENHOWER RESIDENCE

RESTORATION AND DEVELOPMENT OF A PRIVATE HOTEL INTO A PRESTIGIOUS RECEPTION VENUE

The Mignot Hotel – which owes its name to its first owner, Edouard Mignot – was built in the Beaux-Arts style between 1911 and 1913 on Boulevard Lundy in Reims by the Parisian architect François-Adolphe Bocage. For several months, it was the residence of General Eisenhower when Reims was recaptured by Allied forces in 1945.

In 2016, this historic site was acquired by the Descours family, owners of the EPI group, in order to transform it into a prestigious reception venue for the Champagne houses Piper-Heidsieck, Charles Heidsieck, and Rare Champagne.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Restoration is a means of bringing out the qualities of ancient buildings, all while providing the opportunity for reinvestment, even reinvention.

An initial diagnostic phase made it possible to retrace the historical presence of living spaces and their evolutions, but also to make an inventory of the elements of heritage-interest whose recovery seemed essential to us.

Along with the restoration, we also carried out a major project of restructuring, development, and interior design in order to revive the Eisenhower Residence in the spirit of a family home.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

We thus discovered the volumes and decors of the state rooms (Grand Salon, Petit Salon, smoking lounge, dining room...) and restored the private chambers, each with its own particular character. The project also allowed for the integration of a wine cellar, tasting areas, and a professional kitchen. The furniture was chosen with care so as to blend in perfectly with this new setting, to echo the history of the site, and to inhabit this new reception venue in a warm and contemporary fashion.

The landscaping project also provides for the conservation of plant rows on the boulevard and street, the recreation of a white flower bed behind the Eisenhower Residence, and the relocation of the original walk-through green area and rose garden on the side.

Location
Reims
Mission
Restoration,
interior design, and
decoration
Programme
Hospitality
Contractor
Epi Lundy Eisenhower
Team
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
Undisclosed
Timetable
2016 – 2021
© Antoine Mercusot

© Antoine Mercusot

RÉSIDENCE EISENHOWER

RESTAURATION ET AMÉNAGEMENT D’UN HÔTEL PARTICULIER EN LIEU D’ACCUEIL DE PRESTIGE

L’hôtel Mignot qui doit son nom à son premier propriétaire Edouard Mignot a été construit dans le style Beaux-Arts entre 1911 et 1913, boulevard Lundy à Reims, par l’architecte parisien François-Adolphe Bocage. Il a été, l’espace de plusieurs mois, la résidence du général Eisenhower à la reprise de Reims par les forces alliées en 1945.

En 2016, ce lieu chargé d’histoire a été acquis par le groupe EPI dans le but de le transformer en un lieu d’accueil de prestige pour les maisons de Champagne Piper Heidsieck, Charles Heidsieck et Rare Champagne.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

La restructuration et la restauration permettent de valoriser les bâtiments anciens, tout en leur offrant la capacité d’être aujourd’hui réinvestis, voire réinventés.

Une première phase de diagnostic a permis de retracer l’implantation historique des espaces de vie, ses évolutions mais aussi de faire l’inventaire des éléments d’intérêt patrimonial dont la valorisation nous semblait indispensable.

En parallèle de la mission de restauration, nous avons mené un important projet de restructuration, d’aménagement et décoration pour faire revivre la Résidence Eisenhower, dans l’esprit d’une maison de famille.

© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot
© Antoine Mercusot

Nous avons redécouvert les volumes et décors des salles d’apparat : Grand Salon, Petit Salon, Fumoir, Salle à manger et restitué les espaces des chambres avec chacune leur caractère particulier. Le projet a également permis d’intégrer une cave à vins, des espaces de dégustation et une cuisine professionnelle. Le mobilier a été choisi avec soin pour s’intégrer parfaitement dans ce nouvel écrin, faire écho à l’histoire des lieux et habiter de façon chaleureuse et contemporaine ce nouvel espace d’accueil et de réception.

Le projet paysager prévoit par ailleurs la conservation des alignements végétaux sur le boulevard et la rue, la recréation d’un sous-bois à floraison blanche à l’arrière de la Résidence Eisenhower et la réimplantation du jardin de déambulation avec sa roseraie d’origine sur le côté.

Lieu
Reims
Type d’opération
Restauration,
aménagement et
décoration intérieure
Programme
Hôtellerie
Maître d’ouvrage
Epi Lundy Eisenhower
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
Confidentiel
Calendrier
2016 – 2021
© Antoine Mercusot