© Cyrille Weiner

THE BOULINGRIN COVERED MARKET

RESTORATION AND ARRANGEMENT OF A REINFORCED CONCRETE FEAT FROM THE 1930'S

Since the Boulingrin covered market was opened in 1929, this building has been a part of the identity of Reims. The building was a symbol of the future and the reconstruction following the destruction of World War I, in particular for its modernist architecture, materials, and the use of what were for the time futuristic techniques. Built to host a covered market, it was designed by architect Émile Maigrot, however, it was the engineer Eugène Freyssinet who provided the ingenuity regarding the installation of the thin shell in reinforced concrete, a technique he had patented.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

A centre of city life and a feat of reinforced-concrete construction, the Boulingrin Covered Market escaped demolition and recommenced its activity as a covered market in the centre of Reims.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Véronique Nosbaum

Use of the building ceased in 1988 on account of its dilapidation, to the extent that Reims City Council was considering its destruction. However, the market was placed under protection in 1990 when it was classified as a historic monument. Following a long period of study, the French State and City of Reims decided to finance a far-reaching restoration, and to restart the building’s original vocation as a covered marketplace.

© Alain Hatat

The restoration of the elements in concrete, which were suffering from advanced degradation, required a high degree of technical skill, but the real difficulty was to adapt and bring this fragile building into compliance with the standards in force for its current usage, without changing the nature of its architecture. We considered all the elements that composed the project with the same care and attention: the vaults, the windows, the ironwork, and the elegant Art Deco facilities designed by the architect.

In 2015 this project was awarded the Europa Nostra prize for European cultural heritage.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Antoine Mercusot
Location
Reims
Project type
Restoration
and compliance with standards
Program
Commerce
Project owner
DRAC Grand Est
/ Ville de Reims
Team
Chatillon Architects
Budget
€ 25m excl. of VAT
Timeline
2008-2012
Awards
Prix du patrimoine culturel
de l’union européenne
Europa Nostra 2015

© Cyrille Weiner

HALLES DU BOULINGRIN

RESTAURATION ET AMÉNAGEMENT
D’UNE PROUESSE DE BÉTON ARMÉ
DES ANNÉES 1930

Depuis leur inauguration en 1929, les Halles du Boulingrin font partie intégrante de l’identité de Reims. Ce bâtiment symbolise l’avenir et la reconstruction après les ravages de la Première Guerre mondiale, notamment par son architecture moderne, ses matériaux et l’emploi de techniques futuristes pour l’époque. Destiné à abriter un marché couvert, il est conçu par l’architecte Émile Maigrot, mais la paternité de la prouesse technique revient à l’ingénieur Eugène Freyssinet pour la mise en œuvre de coques minces en béton armé qu’il avait lui-même brevetées.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Cyrille Weiner

Lieu de vie, prouesse de béton armé, les halles du Boulingrin échappent à la démolition et retrouvent leur usage de marché couvert au cœur de Reims.

© Cyrille Weiner
© Véronique Nosbaum

L’édifice est désaffecté en 1988 du fait de son état de délabrement, au point que la municipalité envisage sa destruction avant qu’il ne soit protégé au titre des monuments historiques en 1990. Après un long processus d’études, l’État et la ville de Reims décident de soutenir une ambitieuse restauration et de renouer avec son activité initiale de marché couvert.

© Alain Hatat
© Antoine Mercusot

La restauration des bétons, dans un état de dégradation avancé, a nécessité un haut degré de technicité mais la réelle difficulté a consisté à adapter et mettre aux normes ce fragile bâtiment, conformément aux exigences d’une utilisation actuelle, sans en dénaturer l’architecture. Nous avons considéré tous les éléments de l’ouvrage avec le même soin : les voûtes, les verrières, la serrurerie et les aménagements Art Déco d’une grande finesse conçus par l’architecte.

En 2015, nous avons été récompensés pour ce projet par le prix du patrimoine culturel européen Europa Nostra.

Lieu
Reims
Type d’opération
Restauration
et mise aux normes
Programme
Commerce
Maître d’ouvrage
DRAC Grand Est
/ Ville de Reims
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
25 M€ HT
Calendrier
2008-2012
Prix
Prix du patrimoine culturel
de l’union européenne
Europa Nostra 2015