© Chatillon Architectes

CHAVANT POST OFFICE

CALL FOR PROJECTS FOR THE RESTRUCTURING OF THE CHAVANT POST OFFICE IN GRENOBLE

For the 1968 Winter Olympics, the construction of the Chavant post office was entrusted to the architect René Gagès. The strength of its composition and the slenderness of its white towers in contrast to the Perret tower signal entry into a "modern" city. In 2020, we were selected with Quartus and Link architects to transform this built heritage within the framework of the call for projects initiated by Poste Immo.

The challenge of this project was to transform this building and its surroundings so as to accommodate an entirely renewed program adapted to the future needs of the city, with particular attention to its heritage value and the need to minimize short- and long-term environmental impacts.

An important deliberation was made, in collaboration with Quartus and Link architects, to rethink the relationship between the building and the city, with the choice of a program which promotes social life on the ground and first floors (neighborhood stores, restaurants, a climbing room, the post office), as well as the architectural desire to redesign the surroundings, to offer high transparency, and to provide gardens on the roof terraces. On the upper floors, offices and housing units are equipped with breathtaking views, shared interior and exterior spaces, and generous private spaces with loggias for each apartment.

The project did not provide for any demolition of the primary structure, which consists of reinforced concrete. The current facades, which were completely modified in the early 2000s, broke with the initial structure’s characteristics and made it impossible to reach acceptable energy performance. These were completely redesigned in the spirit of the original facades of René Gagès in order to provide marked improvement in performance and to meet their new requirements. Finally, the distribution and interior spaces were completely redesigned with the goal of reducing the length of the partitions to a minimum for a more economical use of resources.

© Chatillon Architectes
© Chatillon Architectes

The ambition of the project was to transform a public space into a peaceful refuge for all, encouraging a sense of community while at the same time reducing the impact of urbanization on the environment.

Location
Grenoble
Mission
Call for projects
Programme
Housing
Offices
Commerce
Contractor
Quartus
Team
Chatillon Architectes
(lead architect),
Link architectes
(associate architect)
Competition project
2020

© Chatillon Architectes

POSTE CHAVANT

APPEL À PROJETS POUR LA RESTRUCTURATION DE LA POSTE CHAVANT DE GRENOBLE

En vue des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de 1968, la construction de la poste Chavant est confiée à l’architecte René Gagès. La puissance de sa composition et l’élancement de ses tours blanches en contrepoint de la tour Perret marquent l’entrée d’une ville « moderne ». En 2020, nous avions été sélectionnés avec Quartus et Link architectes pour formuler une offre de transformation de ce patrimoine dans le cadre de l’appel à projet lancé par Poste Immo.

L’enjeu du projet était de transformer ce bâtiment et ses abords afin d’accueillir une programmation entièrement renouvelée et adaptée aux besoins futurs de la ville, en portant une attention particulière sur sa valeur patrimoniale et sur la nécessité de minimiser l’impact environnemental à court et long terme.

Une importante réflexion a été menée, en collaboration avec Quartus et Link architectes, pour repenser la relation entre le bâtiment et la ville, avec le choix d’une programmation favorisant la vie sociale au rez-de-chaussée ainsi qu’au premier étage (commerces de proximités, restaurants, salle d’escalade, guichet de poste) et avec la volonté architecturale de redessiner les abords, d’offrir une grande transparence ou encore de proposer des jardins sur les toitures terrasses. Dans les étages supérieurs, des bureaux et des logements disposent de vues imprenables, d’espaces partagés, intérieurs et extérieurs et d’espaces privatifs généreux avec des loggias pour chaque appartement.

Le projet ne prévoyait aucune démolition de la structure primaire en béton armée. Les façades actuelles, entièrement modifiées au début des années 2000 sans cohérence avec l’œuvre initiale, ne permettaient pas d’atteindre des performances énergétiques acceptables. Celles-ci ont été entièrement redessinées dans l’esprit des façades originales de René Gages pour permettre une nette amélioration des performances et répondre à leurs nouveaux besoins. Enfin, la distribution et les espaces intérieurs ont été entièrement repensés avec la volonté de réduire au minimum le linéaire des cloisonnements dans une démarche d’économie de moyen.

© Chatillon Architectes
© Chatillon Architectes

Le projet consistait à faire de l’espace public un espace apaisé, pour tous et de qualité, encourageant le vivre-ensemble en réduisant l’impact de l’urbanisation sur l’environnement.

Lieu
Grenoble
Type d’opération
Appel à projets
Programme
Logement
Bureaux
Commerce
Maître d’ouvrage
Quartus
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
(architecte mandataire),
Link architectes
(architecte associé)
Projet de concours
2020