© Chatillon Architectes

THE GRANDE NEF OF ÎLE-DES-VANNES

RENOVATION AND RESTORATION OF THE GRANDE NEF AND ITS ANNEX BUILDING

Inaugurated in 1971, the Grande Nef of the Île-des-Vannes sports complex - designed by Anatole Kopp, Lucien Metrich, and Pierre Chazanoff - is quite the technical feat from an engineering and statics point of view. As the centerpiece of the sports center, the Grande Nef looks comes across as an overturned boat, blending in perfectly with the site's river landscape. In 2007, this building, which defies the limits of its material composition, was labeled "20th Century Heritage" by the Ministry of Culture and was listed in the complementary inventory of historical monuments.

Absent renovation since its opening, and having soon become obsolete in terms of energy-efficiency and accessibility, as well as porosity and comfort, the sports complex was closed in 2014. The challenge of its renovation stems from the organisation of the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The Grande Nef of Île-des-Vannes and its “Building A” annex will be used as a training site before and during the competition phase. Following this international event, the venues will reassume their originally intended role.

In order for the Grande Nef to regain its initial function, we have planned a complete restoration of its concrete, as well as the installation of a double translucent polycarbonate skin on the side facades of the structure; this will provide a regularization of sunshine. The roof’s new insulation will be topped with a synthetic membrane allowing for better thermal and acoustic comfort. The leveling of the plot, as well as the installation of elevators and ramps, will be carried out so as to ensure universal accessibility of the site.

© Chatillon Architectes

The renovation will provide current energy solutions and universal accessibility, all while preserving the techniques and historical materiality of the 1970s project.

The 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games provided the necessary momentum for the enhancement of the Île-des-Vannes sports complex, be it its technical feats from the 70s, its location, or its visibility. A genuine vehicle for accelerating communal integration, the site will then be returned to the municipality of Saint-Ouen-sur-Seine (its owner) and the various athletic uses will constitute a new center of attraction.

© Chatillon Architectes
Location
Île-Saint-Denis
Project type
Renovation
Program
Sport
Project owner
SOLIDEO
Team
Chatillon Architects
Budget
8 M€ (excl. VAT)
Timeline
2020-2023

© Chatillon Architectes

GRANDE NEF DE L'ÎLE-DES-VANNES

RÉHABILITATION ET RESTAURATION DE LA GRANDE NEF EN VUE DES JEUX OLYMPIQUES ET PARALYMPIQUES 2024

Inaugurée en 1971, la grande nef du complexe sportif de l’Île-des-Vannes, imaginée par Anatole Kopp, Lucien Metrich et Pierre Chazanoff, est une vraie prouesse technique d’un point de vue de l’ingénierie et de la statique. Pièce maîtresse du centre omnisports, la grande nef se dresse telle une barque renversée s’intégrant parfaitement dans le paysage fluvial du site. En 2007, ce bâtiment, défiant la limite des matériaux, est labellisé « Patrimoine du XXème siècle » par le Ministère de la Culture et inscrit à l’inventaire complémentaire des monuments historiques.

Jamais rénové depuis son ouverture et devenu rapidement obsolète, en matière de performance énergétique, d’accessibilité, de porosité et de confort, le complexe sportif a fermé ses portes en 2014. L’enjeu de sa réhabilitation s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’organisation des Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2024. La grande nef de l’Île-des-Vannes et son annexe le bâtiment A seront utilisés comme site d’entraînement avant et pendant la phase de compétition. À l’issue de ces rencontres internationales, les lieux ont pour vocation de retrouver leur usage originel.

Afin que la grande nef retrouve sa fonction initiale, nous avons prévu une restauration complète des bétons et l’installation d’une double peau en polycarbonate translucide sur les façades latérales pour assurer la régularisation de l’ensoleillement. La nouvelle isolation de la couverture sera surmontée d’une membrane synthétique permettant un meilleur confort thermique et acoustique. Le nivellement du terrain ainsi que l’aménagement d’ascenseurs et de rampes seront mis en place pour une mise en accessibilité universelle du site.

© Chatillon Architectes

La réhabilitation permettra d’apporter des solutions énergétiques actuelles et une accessibilité universelle, tout en conservant les techniques et la matérialité historique du projet des années 70.

Les Jeux Olympiques et Paralympiques de 2024 ont permis d’insuffler la dynamique nécessaire à la remise en valeur du complexe sportif de l’Île-des-Vannes, de ses prouesses techniques des années 70, de son emplacement et de sa visibilité. Réel vecteur d’accélération du « vivre ensemble », le site sera ensuite restitué à la commune de Saint-Ouen-sur-Seine, qui en est le propriétaire, et les différents usages sportifs constitueront un nouveau pôle d’attractivité.

© Chatillon Architectes
Lieu
Île-Saint-Denis
Type d’opération
Réhabilitation
Programme
Sport
Maître d’ouvrage
SOLIDEO
Équipe
Chatillon Architectes
Budget
8 M€ HT
Calendrier
2020-2023